Philanthropic 5 Awards

Each year, United Way of Greater Milwaukee Emerging Leaders honor five community leaders for their commitment to the Milwaukee area through their Philanthropic Five awards.

The awards, created by United Way’s Emerging Leaders Council, recognize five community leaders in their 20s, 30s and 40s who give, advocate and volunteer for change throughout Greater Milwaukee’s nonprofit community.

Philanthropic 5 (P5) Award Winners receive:

  • $500 to invest in the cause of their choice.*
  • Public recognition in The Business Journal for award recipients and their companies.
  • An awards event held in their honor.

*United Way donor choice guidelines will apply

2014 Nominations

Nominate a leader today!

Nominations will be accepted through Friday, June 13, 2014.

Congratulations to our 2013 Award Winners

Christine Culver

Christine Culver
Director of Strategic Partnerships

Kadie Jelenchick
Senior Counsel
Foley & Lardner, LLP

Austin Ramirez
Chief Executive Officer
HUSCO International

Jeffery Roman
Director, Milwaukee Planning Group, LLC
Chair, City of Milwaukee Equal Rights Commission
Executive Director, Urban Roots Milwaukee

Robyn Vining
Robyn Vining Photography

Christine Culver is a leader, change agent and generous volunteer in the Greater
Milwaukee community. A recovering alcoholic, Christine gives to and advocates for substance abuse prevention. She openly shares her story of addiction and recovery. Christine is an active volunteer at Meta House and the Dewey Center.

Kadie Jelenchick rolls up her sleeves and puts her legal expertise to work in the community. Through Legal Action of Wisconsin, Kadie participates in the Volunteer Lawyers Project, where she provides pro bono legal services to low-income clients. She is chairperson of the Wisconsin Breast Cancer Showhouse, Inc.

Austin Ramirez is committed to the education of youth in Milwaukee. He believes every student deserves the right to a superior education. He is a strong supporter of Schools That Can Milwaukee, a nonprofit organization founded to close the educational achievement gap of Milwaukee students with their suburban peers.

Jeffery Roman is a community organizer and influencer vested in changing Milwaukee by improving outcomes for youth and adults of color. Jeffery's focus is on evidence-based practices that focus on improving access, equity and achievements. He has a Mayoral appointment to the City of Milwaukee Equal Rights Commission where he serves as chairperson.

Robyn Vining uses her artistic gifts to give those facing challenges a chance
to see uplifting reflections of themselves at no charge. Robyn is one of the founding members of Exploit No More, a nonprofit organization dedicated to raising funds to establish a safe place for girls escaping sexual trafficking and slavery in Milwaukee.



Previous winners:


  • Amy Lindner, Meta House
  • Rayna Andrews, City of Milwaukee
  • Deborah Lukovich, allinea, llc
  • George K. Williams, Harley-Davidson Motor Company
  • Valerie Vidal, Quarles & Brady LLP


  • Héctor Colón, Hispanic Professionals of Greater Milwaukee
  • John Holz, Plunkett Raysich Architects, LLP
  • Jackie Wells, West Suburban YMCA
  • Jill Kline, Wisconsin Humane Society
  • Jessica Monville, MillerCoors


  • Nancy Hernandez, ABRAZO Multicultural Marketing & Communication
  • Darryl Morin, Advanced Wireless
  • Abby Ramirez, Schools that Can Milwaukee
  • Dan Tranchita, Robert W. Baird & Co. Incorporated
  • Darren Goldstein, KPMG LLP


  • John Florsheim, WEYCO Group
  • Cristina Hernandez-Malaby, Quarles & Brady
  • Judy Krause, Urban Ecology Center
  • Craig Mastantuono, Mastantuono Law Office
  • Michelle Nettles, Quest Milwaukee, Marquette University


  • Jennifer Bartolotta, The Bartolotta Restaurants
  • Alonzo Kelly, Wells Fargo Funds Management Group
  • Marc Andraca, Johnson Controls, Inc.
  • Gary Mueller, Serve Marketing
  • Alexander Fraser, Michael Best & Friedrich LLP


 The P5 awards are sponsored by:

©2014 United Way of Greater Milwaukee